About Civil.ge
Eng | Geo | Rus
Last updated: 17:49 - 12 Dec.'17
President Orders Commission on Constitutional Reform
Civil Georgia, Tbilisi / 8 Jun.'09 / 15:27

President Saakashvili signed an order formally endorsing a commission on constitutional reforms on June 8.

According to the document, the commission’s purpose will be to amend the current constitution.

Avtandil Demetrashvili, a former chairman of the Constitutional Court, has been appointed as the chairman of the commission.

Twenty political parties have been invited to nominate one representative to take a seat in the commission, including those, which are behind the ongoing protests rallies. These parties, however, have rejected to participate.

The list of invited parties is as follows: the ruling National Movement party; Christian-Democratic Movement (CDM); National-Democratic Party (NDP); Georgian Troupe; On Our Own; Labor Party; Republican Party; Conservative Party; Industry will Save Georgia; New Rights; Georgia’s Way; Party of People; Movement for United Georgia; National Forum; Party of Freedom; Movement for Fair Georgia; Irakli Alasania’s political team; Democratic Movement – United Georgia; Democratic Party of Georgia; Georgian Women’s Party for Justice and Equality and Traditionalists Union of Georgia (these two latter parties are offered to have one representative).

Parties in the parliamentary minority – CDM; NDP, On Our Own, and also Georgian Troupe, whose leader, Jondi Bagaturia, is a lawmaker, but not in the parliamentary minority, have agreed to join the commission.  Ex-PM Zurab Nogaideli’s party, Movement for Fair Georgia, said recently it might join the commission but setting of “realistic” timeframes for drafting the amendments should be set and named end of August as a deadline.

Although no exact timeframe of the commission’s work is yet clear, CDM, a leading party in the parliamentary minority group, has offered that the commission should table a draft of the amendments no later than December 31, 2009.

A group of non-governmental organizations have also been invited, including Georgian Young Lawyers’ Association; International Society for Fair Elections and Democracy; New Generation-New Initiative; ALPE Foundation; UN Association of Georgia; Transparency International-Georgia; Liberty Institute; Article 42 of Constitution; Caucasus Institute for Peace, Democracy and Development.
List of twenty legal experts and academicians have also been invited to join the commission. The list includes: Levan Aleksidze, a professor of international law at the Tbilisi State University (TSU); Davit Aprasidze, professor at the Ilia Chavchavadze University; Zaza Bibilashvili, a lawyer; Marina Garishvili, associated professor, lawyer; Gia Getsadze, a legal expert; Vasil Gonashvili, legal expert; Tornike Gordadze, doctor of political sciences; Zurab Davitashvili, doctor of political sciences; Giorgi Kakhiani, assistant professor at TSU; Giorgi Kverenchkhiladze, assistant professor at TSU; Mzia Lekveishvili, professor at TSU; Malkhaz Matsaberidze, professor at TSU; Prof. Dr. Ghia Nodia, director of International School of Caucasus Studies (he served as education minister in 2008); Zaza Rukhadze, legal expert, professor at the Georgian-American University; Iakob Putkaradze, professor of constitutional law; Ketevan Kokrashvili, legal expert; Soso Tsintsadze, professor; rector of the Georgian Diplomatic Academy; Kakhi Kurashvili, doctor of law; Nana Chigladze, doctor of law and Zurab Jibgashvili from TSU.
The President will nominate three representatives from his administration; the parliament and the government also have the right to name three preventatives each.

One representative will be nominated by Supreme Council of Justice; Supreme Court; Constitutional Court; National Security Council; Chamber of Control; National Bank of Georgia and Public Defender each.

Adjara Autonomous Republic, as well as Tbilisi-based Abkhaz government-in-exile and South Ossetian provisional administration will also name one representative each.

Deadline for nominating representative to the commission expires on June 20, according to the presidential order.

Latest News
12 Dec.'17 17:49
Senior Lawmakers Voice Support to Mandatory Gender Quotas Bill
The legislative proposal might be adopted in early spring of 2018, according to GDDG’s Eka Beselia.
12 Dec.'17 16:55
President Appoints Two New Ambassadors
Viktor Dolidze and Elguja Khokrishvili will take office from January 2018.
12 Dec.'17 15:34
The Weekly Tripwire - Issue 19
Civil.ge’s news digest covering developments in Abkhazia and Tskhinvali Region/South Ossetia.
12 Dec.'17 03:02
Judge Releases Saakashvili from Courtroom
The prosecution sought placing the ex-President of Georgia to pre-trial house arrest for two months.
11 Dec.'17 17:02
Parliament Speaker: Election of President by 300-member Electoral College ‘Will Remain In Force’
Kobakhidze says the system has shortcomings, but the ruling party will keep it as ‘a political compromise.’
11 Dec.'17 17:00
Protesters Rally for Drug Policy Liberalization
Few thousand activists demanded adoption of the bill, which envisages decriminalization of drug use.
11 Dec.'17 12:37
Q3’17 FDI USD 594 mln – Preliminary Data
Most of the FDI in the third quarter of 2017 came from Azerbaijan, followed Turkey and the United Kingdom.
09 Dec.'17 17:19
Friends of Georgia Group Stresses Support in the Face of Russian Occupation
The group of countries addresses ethnic discrimination, Russian military build-up among other issues.
09 Dec.'17 12:39
Ukrainian National Police Detains Saakashvili
Ex-President Mikheil Saakashvili went on a hunger strike, might face house arrest.
08 Dec.'17 18:08
Georgia in OSCE Ministerial Council Statements
Several foreign ministers spoke on Georgia in their addresses at the 24th OSCE Ministerial Council.

About Civil Georgia
Civil.Ge © 2001-2017, Daily News Online
Registered office: 2 Dolidze Str, 4-th Floor.